Accessibility Tools
  • Increase Text
  • High Contrast Mode

Applications invited for Michael Hartnett Poetry Award

Press Release:

Applications are currently being invited for the Michael Hartnett Poetry Award 2016, an annual scheme marking Newcastle West native Michael Hartnett’s contribution to literature in English and Irish.

The 15th annual award is jointly funded by the Arts Office of Limerick City and County Council and The Arts Council.

Each year the award alternates between Irish and English and this year the €4,000 annual prize will be presented to the author of a third book of English language poetry, or subsequent book of poetry, published during 2014 or 2015. This year’s adjudicators are poet Rita Ann Higgins and Gerard Smyth, Poetry Editor with the Irish Times.

The winning poet will be presented with the Michael Hartnett Annual Poetry Award on the opening night, Thursday April 14th 2016 of Éigse Michael Hartnett Literary & Arts Festival, Newcastle West, Co. Limerick.

Previous winners of the prestigious award include Sean O’Leochain, Julie O’Callaghan, Gearóid Mac Lochlainn, Vona Groarke, Pádraig Ó Snodaigh , Seán Ó Curraoin , Kerry Hardie, Sinead Morrissey, Paddy Bushe, Maurice Riordan, Áine Uí Fhoghlú, James Harpur, Peter Sirr, Stiofán O’Cadhla, Mark Roper, Jo Slade, Marcus Mac Conghail and Caitríona Ní Chléirchín.

The closing date for receipt of application forms and submitted books for the Michael Hartnett Annual Poetry Award 2016 is Friday 19 February 2016.  Application forms and further information is available from the Limerick Arts Office, Limerick City and County Council, Merchant’s Quay, Limerick, T: 061 407363/ 407421; W:; E:

« Back to News