Accessibility Tools
  • Increase Text
  • High Contrast Mode

eir Sport Continues to Recognise and Reward Excellence in Irish Sports Writing



Publishing Ireland are delighted the eir sport have just announced details of this year’s eir sport Book Of The Year prize.

This award is judged by a panel of leading sports writers and broadcasters, and has a reputation for selecting really interesting books. The hashtag for publicity purposes is #ESBOTY2018
The prize is a combination of cash and substantial advertising for the book.

eir sport continues to recognise and reward excellence in Irish sports writing
eir sport, with the support of Publishing Ireland has today launched the eir sport Book of the Year, (formerly Setanta Sports Book of the Year) the fourth year of the award designed to recognise and reward the very best in Irish sports writing.
The eir sport Book of the Year will seek to find the best sports book published by an Irish author in 2018, or sports book with an Irish subject matter.
The winning author will receive a €1,500 cash prize and a specially commissioned trophy while €10,000 worth of TV advertising on eir sport is also on offer for the winning entry.
Last year’s award was claimed by Dublin footballer and six-time All-Ireland winner, Philly McMahon for the profound and inspirational memoir ‘The Choice’. In 2016, recently retired Kerry footballer, Kieran Donaghy claimed the eir sport book of the year award and in 2015, former Dublin football keeper John Leonard was awarded for ‘Dub Sub Confidential’.

Susan Brady, Managing Director of Consumer and Small Business at eir commented:
‘eir sport is delighted to announce the fourth year of the eir sport Book of the Year Award. We’re looking forward to recognising Irish sports writing and excited to see all the entries. Huge thanks once again, must go to Publishing Ireland for their continued support of the award and we look forward to working with them over the coming months.’

The President of Publishing Ireland Ivan O’Brien added; ‘Irish sports writing is booming, as our national passions for sport and reading combine. The eir sport Book of the Year award always yields a strong shortlist and rewards the carefully chosen winner with fantastic exposure. Publishing Ireland is delighted to partner with eir on the award again in 2018, and we encourage all publishers to submit their titles.’

Judging Panel:

Name: Media Outlet:
Adrian Barry Off the Ball – Newstalk 106-108fm
Adrian Russell
Clare McNamara RTÉ Sport
Cliona Foley Freelance sportswriter
Mike Scully Irish Daily Mirror
Paul Kimmage Sunday Independent
Malachy Clerkin Irish Times
Colm O’Connor Irish Examiner

Judging Panel Chair: Mark Duncan


To enter a book, please contact Jennifer Kelly at
Jennifer will tell you all the requirements, including 15 copies of the book for reading and review. Entries must be submitted by 26 October to

Jennifer Kelly,
Teneo PSG ltd,
Cranford House,
Cranford Court,
Stillorgan Road,
Dublin 4,
D04 P0E6

« Back to News