Accessibility Tools
  • Increase Text
  • High Contrast Mode

John McGahern Annual Book Prize 2023 – Call for Submissions

The John McGahern Annual Book prize of £5,000 is for the best debut work of fiction – either novel or collection of short stories – by an Irish writer or writer resident in Ireland for more than 5 years, published in a given year.

The book prize was set up in 2019 by the University of Liverpool’s Institute of Irish Studies in memory of John McGahern, and with the endorsement of the John McGahern Estate. The John McGahern Annual Book Prize will be awarded for fiction published from across all genres of adult fiction in a given year. The inaugural John McGahern Annual Book Prize was awarded in July 2020 to Adrian Duncan for his novel Loves Notes from a German Building Site (The Lilliput Press).

The prize is open to any Irish writer, or writer resident in Ireland for more than five years. Publishers are invited to send any novels or collections of short stories published during the current calendar year they wish to put forward for the prize by Friday 8 December 2023The submission must be the author’s debut work of fiction.

Please post just one copy of each submission for the attention of:

Viola Segeroth
John McGahern Book Prize
The Institute of Irish Studies
University of Liverpool
1 Abercromby Square
L69 7WY

We also ask that you submit one digital copy by emailing

Please also ensure that both the digital and the physical copies are accompanied by a completed and signed application form.

For  more information Click Here

« Back to News