Accessibility Tools
  • Increase Text
  • High Contrast Mode

Stinging Fly Press

THE STINGING FLY is a literary magazine, a book publisher, an education provider, and an online platform. We are independent and not for profit. Our mission is to seek out, nurture, publish and promote the very best new writers and new writing. The Stinging Fly magazine was first published in March 1998. The Stinging Fly Press was set up in May 2005. Since then we have published landmark, award-winning debut story collections by Colin Barrett, Kevin Barry, Claire-Louise Bennett, Mary Costello, Wendy Erskine, Michael J Farrell, Nicole Flattery, Danielle McLaughlin, and Cathy Sweeney. We have also re-issued key works by Maeve Brennan; published anthologies of contemporary fiction and theatre; and published masterful new work by Sean O’Reilly and Philip Ó Ceallaigh. Our titles and authors have won the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature, The Guardian First Book Award, The Kate O’Brien Award, The Butler Literary Award, and The Windham-Campbell Prize.